How to harvest protein using your eyes, ears, nose and hands.

Discussion in 'Finding, Identifying, and Preparing Food' started by beepete, Oct 8, 2016.

0/5, 0 votes

1. beepete

beepete Member
      13/23

Blog Posts:
    The bush in New Zealand and in many places on the planet is a larder filled with food. I learned this technique from my dog.

2. Keith H.

Keith H. Moderator Staff Member
      525/575

Blog Posts:
    I do not recommend you use this method, (& neither does the author of this video) if you are injured in a survival situation you will be far worse off than just being hungry. There are safer methods of making meat.
    Keith.

3. beepete

beepete Member
      13/23

Blog Posts:
    I agree with Keith. Fortunately we don't have rabies or any other nasties in Nz. Though a nasty infection from a bite could certainly be very dangerous in a survival (or non survival) situation. I make my living as a possum trapper and handle them every day, I have only been bitten once, but trust me it hurt.

Keith H. likes this.
  4. Keith H.

525/575

Blog Posts:
    I for one would be interested in knowing about the traps & bait that you use to catch possums beepete. I have trapped them myself form time to time, but there is always more to learn. I have trapped them in rabbit boxes & in leg hold snares. The snares were not meant for the possums, but they got caught anyway!!! A b*gger to set them free again!!!
    Regards, Keith.

5. beepete

beepete Member
      13/23

Blog Posts: