Preparing for the Unthinkable

Discussion in 'Newbie Corner' started by Lakeisha Brown, May 30, 2016.

0/5, 0 votes

1. Lakeisha Brown

Lakeisha Brown New Member
      8/23

Blog Posts:
    I read this on a website:
    Learn and train your mind to expect the totally unexpected:

Disaster situations can change everything in an instant, but no matter how much we know this actual disaster and survival events will surely freak us out. Training ourselves to prepare and practice all sorts of drills for various horrors is great way to prepare us for such situations. You also have to keep in mind that there will always be a big possibility of something strange, weird, and frightening things to happen when in a survival situation. By doing this you will eventually condition your mind to accept such scenarios.

I am still a newbie and I was wondering could one of the survival gurus, unlike myself, explain in their own words about preparing mentally for survival. I have a blockage when it comes to hunting and other things. I really need to break that barrier.

2. Valerie

Valerie Active Member
      43/47

Blog Posts:
    I think the key thing here is being open-minded. Not matter what, you merely have to go with the flow. As you've said, disasters change everything. Normal is flipped upside down and skewed in such ways we won't know what's normal anymore. That's what makes catastrophes so...catastrophic. Yet, there's always that one person who doesn't freak. Why? Because they've adopted a mindset that doesn't limit their perspective. You do train your brain to do this a number of ways. One is practicing tolerance. The other is through creativity, critical thinking and analysis. Lastly, simply having to forcibly adapt to such disaster scenarios (i.e. the war veteran) makes the brain behave differently.

Moroccanbeauty2266 likes this.
  3. Keith H.

Keith H. Moderator Staff Member
      525/575

Blog Posts: