What is the most valuable skill you can learn for survival?

Discussion in 'Newbie Corner' started by Dante848, May 19, 2016.

0/5, 0 votes

1. Dante848

Dante848 New Member
      3/23

Blog Posts:
    Trying to make this helpful but interesting. I am a newbie myself but:

Besides the obvious stuff, like carving something or starting a fire or properly cooking food, making shelter and all those somewhat basic and implied skills, what is something very valuable that you should practice or know before going out there?

Something that a newbie wouldn't think of knowing how to do?

2. Dilof

Dilof New Member
      3/23

Blog Posts:
    Making small traps and using innovation to make things that can supply you with a ready supply of food are always good. Examples of this are using a river(s) current to trap fish with a stone trap (water flowing downstream, fish uncapable of swimming upstream). Other things such as noose traps are also very useful, but you obviously need to know where to put them based on frequent animal tracks.

Para173 likes this.
  3. Para173

Para173 Well-Known Member
      95/99

Blog Posts:
    Go to YouTube and study up on trapping, skinning, cleaning and cooking animals. Study real hard on edible wild plants. Every day you walk by fence lines, parks, fields and ditches that have all sorts of wild edible plants in them. Those plants are there just ready for you to pick them if you would ever need to eat them but you probably have no idea which ones are good to eat and which ones are poisonous, right? Learn to plan ahead. Far ahead. What you do now may not be needed for 10 years down the road but, one day, suddenly you'll need it and have it. Keep in mind that most of us prepare for general trouble. As such, about every 3 years or so, I have found that my preparations work well for me in some fashion.