Best Beginner Handgun

Discussion in 'Guns, Knives, Tools, Etc.' started by Koala, May 30, 2017.

0/5, 0 votes

1. Koala

Koala Well-Known Member
      77/115

Blog Posts:
    I have been doing some research on handguns because I'm trying to find one that would fit my needs. I'm looking for something that's not too big, still, packs a punch, and is ''suitable'' for women to handle. I'd also like to add that I'm a beginner when it comes to guns and that I have shot before but it was a while ago at a shooting range.

I don't know if a handgun is the right option? or should I maybe consider something bigger/more powerful?

I know a lot of you have extensive experience in this area so I'd appreciate all the help I can get.

(I mainly plan to use it as a self-protection tool for when I'm alone on the property).

TMT Tactical and Keith H. like this.
  2. Bishop

Bishop Master Survivalist
      335/345

Blog Posts:
    If I was you I go to a range where they let you rent the handguns to shoot and have them help you and see what gun you shoot the best if you got a 357 revolver you can shoot both 357 rounds and 38 rounds 38 having less recoil and not as loud.

3. Keith H.

Keith H. Moderator Staff Member
      525/575

Blog Posts:
    I have used & carried a variety of handguns over the years Koala, but I find it difficult to advise on what type would suit you. If you are going for a regular handgun I think Bishop's suggestion is a good idea, try some different types yourself. A .22 semi-auto is light & easy to shoot, head shots will stop most people. But your safest shot for stopping someone coming at you is center body mass, a chest shot with a larger caliber. I have used revolvers & semi-autos, I found the 9mm Glock to be very accurate & great to use.