Best things of value to store for emergency?

Discussion in 'Financial Planning' started by Vash, Jun 30, 2016.

0/5, 0 votes

1. Vash

Vash Member
      18/23

Blog Posts:
    In my opinion, currency issued by the government is not reliable. Even in normal peace time, inflation sometimes is a little high. During some kind of emergency such as finical meltdown, all your savings can lose its value overnight.

I am no expert, but I think precious metal such as gold, silver have a better store value at least compare to paper currency. They have solid value of exchange for the last thousands of years.

However, in a real disaster where people are struggle to survive, I think even silver and gold will have no real value when basic food items are hard to come by. In such case, wouldn't basic items such as food, clothing, and some useful tools be more valuable than actual "currency"?

What do you guys think?

Prairie Dog likes this.
  2. Valerie

Valerie Active Member
      43/47

Blog Posts:
    I think we're seeing now with Brexit and other economical difficulties how little paper money is actually worth. It's a little disconcerting to know we all dwell in empires made large by something as weak as paper. Precious metals are indeed a good idea to have, but even those have fallen in value over time. Sure, the value of gold and whatnot is high... but if SHTF or if there's an economic collapse, precious metals tank as well. So you've hit the nail on the head with your conclusion. I mean, if the world "ends," who's going to want jewelry? Not me. And gold makes for terrible weaponry.

I agree. I think the real currency is the real necessities for life that we all seek: food and shelter. Money can buy these things now, but when money loses all its value, we're going to have to come up with another way to get what we want.

3. Vash

Vash Member
      18/23

Blog Posts: