"caching" Experience.....for Firearms And Ammo.

Discussion in 'Guns, Knives, Tools, Etc.' started by Sourdough, Jan 29, 2019.

0/5, 0 votes

1. Sourdough

Sourdough "ALASKAN"
      452/460

Blog Posts:
    I have been Caching supplies for well more then 60 years, 49 years caching supplies in the Arctic. I have made a lot of errors, and cured them. I have a large number of caches, mostly everything I would ever need to live for three years in the wilderness here.

But I have some information on general caching that I can move over here. I was hoping that we could discuss caching firearms and ammo and related tools.....first. A lot of forums have members who "Talk" about caching, but I can tell if they are repeating stuff that read or watched on U-Tube.

So I would request that any input to this thread be clearly identified as either "First Hand Personal Experience" or if the information offered is stuff you believe to be true, but you have not personally done it.

I now keep all of my caches above ground. I realize that is not an option for many, because of where they live. I'll talk more about mistakes at a later point in this thread. But for now, I am using 120mm ammo cans for firearms caching. They are 32' tall and 11" by 5 5/8" inside. And on an angle I can put tools up to 33 1/2" long. Firearms are first cleaned, and a list of any special size tools for repair and care is made, allen wrenches or special size and type screw drivers, crescent wrenches, etc. is made. I then let them set a few days in a warm and dry environment. They then go into Z-COOR Bags or BLUE Bags along with tools and spare parts, screws, springs, etc..

I add some anti rust inhibiter capsules and remove as much air as possible without undue pressure of bag against sharp parts like sights, etc.. Seal the bag, and fold it over and tape it again. Then put it in several large trash compactor bags, and seal them. Then wrap in a very dry old towel or blanket, and tape it secure.