"disaster Research Network"

Discussion in 'News, Current Events, and Politics' started by Pragmatist, Sep 25, 2019.

0/5, 0 votes

1. Pragmatist

Pragmatist Master Survivalist
      485/575

Blog Posts:
    TMT Tactical likes this.
  2. varuna

varuna Tree killer & a cat person
      380/460

Blog Posts:
    Care to elaborate further on it? I live in disaster prone country where mother nature really love redecorating the landscape with people on it (kinda routine here) and I also have access to updated seismic data and other things

TMT Tactical likes this.
  3. Pragmatist

485/575

Blog Posts:
    Good morning Varuna,

I have no knowledge of this research university nor this new engineering program; only what I read in the article I linked.

My point is still that our institutions - governmental, private sector business, NGOs, and related, have the knowledge and experience. What is missing is the funding.

https://www.adrc.asia/countryreport/SGP/SGPeng98/index.html This is Singapore's program for it's small city-state nation. At link's "8." is their international cooperation program. This program tells of the organization and functions but NOT the financial arrangements to purchase, for example, seismic instruments on buoys, rescue aircraft, portable medical clinics with supplies, relocation shelters and all the rest.

It's about the same in the US. Communications networks for emergencies are in high development and refinement. Yet, the cities and counties cannot afford to get them. The US has excellent aircraft but the roads need some work.

A good example for a summary: Relocating the national capitol of Indonesia from JKT to Borneo is less about skilled members of organizations and more so about the money.

Not too much is new under the Sun.

TMT Tactical and varuna like this.
  4. Pragmatist

485/575

Blog Posts:
    https://ahacentre.org/

Good morning Varuna,

I'm not 100% organized if I even need to say this........