Forging

Discussion in 'General Q&A' started by BigZirp, Jun 21, 2018.

0/5, 0 votes

1. BigZirp

BigZirp Expert Member
      178/230

Blog Posts:
    Does any survivalist forge their own knives and tools? My background is in machining and i am looking into the realm of forging. Where to begin? Are there any books you suggest? The internet seems to be "too much" infomation and just like every other subjectc alot of contridicting infomation.

2. TexDanm

TexDanm Shadow Dancer
      525/575

Blog Posts:
    I have been making knives for years but am only now getting into the forging part. Like you I am a machinist and so have in the past made my knives by shaping metal mechanically from files, big saw blades or from bought blades that I finished and put handles on.

My intent with my little forge is to make a few small knives from railroad spikes and maybe combination wrenches. I also want to make some adzes from old ball peen hammer heads, a few steel strikers and a couple of smaller honing steels.

I picked up a small paint can propane forge that will run on propane. I also have the makings for a coal fired forge from the brake drum off a truck. My stuff will all have to be small because I have osteoarthritis and my shoulder won't stand for a lot of heavy beating.

BigZirp likes this.
  3. watcherchris

watcherchris Legendary Survivalist
      510/575

Blog Posts:
    Wow Texdanm,

You got me to remembering...mentally running down ancient trails ...so to speak.

Years ago I obtained a knife and a scraper made from olde thick hacksaw blades.

While not works of art so to speak...they are very very functional and the blades make for a very hard metal......excellent knife blade material and also an excellent scraper which I keep in my tool box.....for just such scraping uses.

This kind of hacksaw blade is difficult to find today....but were quite common in the olde days.

Thanks for reminding me Tex.

Watcherchris

BigZirp likes this.
  4. TexDanm