New Member Hello From Atlanta, Georgia And Introductions

Discussion in 'New Member Introduction' started by Ogeechee, May 20, 2018.

0/5, 0 votes

1. Ogeechee

Ogeechee New Member
      1/29

Blog Posts:
    Hello everyone,

It's great to be here.

Although some would not consider me a proper prepper, I do believe in being self sufficient.

To this end I have purchased a large tract of land on a river in Georgia in the hopes of converting it into a good bug-out location. In addition, I keep an RV and sailboat ready as a second and third option.

My interests are in solar power, high density farming, composting toilets and all things related to off-grid living.

I'm always eager to answer questions about my own experiences. I am somewhat knowledgeable about long-term sailing and finding off-grid properties, so please feel free to reach out to me on these subjects.

My day job is as a software developer and therefore I'm also enthusiastic about technology.

It's great to meet you all and I'm looking forward to learning from you.

Best regards,

-Ogeechee (not my real name :)

Keith H. likes this.
  2. Old Geezer

Old Geezer Legendary Survivalist
      525/575

Blog Posts:
    Speaking of living near a river, plot several routes to you bug-out location. Think of choke points: all bridges will be at risk for traffic jams, high-crime neighborhoods must be avoided, neighborhood streets will be intentionally blocked by the locals to keep the unwanted away, when cars get stopped looters will attempt to rob the people inside those cars, ...

Attacks on car occupants do happen. Witness what happened at state fairs in Iowa and Wisconsin. I was living in the Midwest at this time and remember reading about the attacks and talking to people who had been to one of these fairs when the violence broke out:
    http://iowafc.org/blog/2016/08/05/iowa-state-fair-visitors-carry/

https://www.americanthinker.com/blo...ks_the_wisconsin_state_fair_phil_boehmke.html