New Member Hi All

Discussion in 'New Member Introduction' started by Kranky, Nov 5, 2018.

0/5, 0 votes

1. Kranky

Kranky Expert Member
      190/230

Blog Posts:
    Hello, newbie here. The hubby and I live in central US, just started working on our full-time bug-in place. Needs some work before we can move in. Aiming for homesteading type prepping to hedge against what I see is lots of different collapse scenarios. Collapsing now, if you will.

We have over 5 acres of land about 8 miles from a smallish city, it's pretty hidden. Actually I have to drive people there to find it. :) As we are one income, and intend to stay that way, we live on the cheap and below our means. As I see economic collapse a definite possibility in our lifetime, we are doing what we can to hedge against this even further.

Our intentions are to aim as self sustainable as possible, although it will be years before we get there. Starting small and growing as we can. Will take some time. But.. feel like I got to do 'something' to get prepared.

Lucky enough to inherit the land, so it's ours free and clear. Needs a ton of work, but hey, it's free. Access to a well that hits the biggest aquifer in central America (although I keep reading how farmers are using it up at an alarming rate.. possible rain catchment in the future). Septic there, somewhere, haven't found it yet. Since we wanted to live as cheaply as possible, we managed to find a smaller mobile home for free and got it moved a few months back. That is what we are working on now. So, no mortgage or rent once we move in to it. The home is 840sqft, perfect for the two of us, and easier to keep cool/warm.

On the land there is quite a bit of deer, quail and turkey. Will want to add chickens and possibly goats later.

Lots of tree, which is surprising in Oklahoma. Good if we have a need to burn wood for heat. We are enjoying our fire pit burning wood in the mean time.