History;nuc Shelters And Their Food

Discussion in 'News, Current Events, and Politics' started by Pragmatist, Feb 27, 2020.

0/5, 0 votes

1. Pragmatist

Pragmatist Master Survivalist
      485/575

Blog Posts:
    https://www.history.com/news/cold-war-fallout-shelter-survival-rations-food

Good morning all,

Per ...

Sidebar: I am a graduate of "duck and cover". One of our signature lines was "This desk isn't going to protect me against an atomic bomb".

"Grandma was already ready for an emergency" because life and it's continuity was ... still is ... an emergency.

Note "sand-like multi-purpose food".

At article's intro picture, bottom left corner, that "entrenching tool" (small handle shovel) can give user a workout exceeding gym class.

Professional historians: Note that liquor was never kept in fallout shelters. Does anyone remember "Pinch" bottle of liquor ? I once saw a sign in Uncle's semi-finished shelter made of cardboard and printed to look like a plank of wood. It had a picture of a lady in a modern skirt. Sign read "She wears mink all day and fox all night". The WWII generation of veterans knew how to prepare.

Morgan101 and TMT Tactical like this.
  2. Morgan101

Morgan101 Legendary Survivalist
      515/575

Blog Posts:
    I remember duck and cover. I was in Catholic School, so the whole time we were ducking and covering we were saying the rosary. Seems that every classroom had a complete wall of glass windows. I'm not sure if you would be safer being close to the windows and have everything blow over you, or being on the other side of the room. In either case the praying was probably the most effective thing we did.

A rose by any other name would smell as sweet. All of these biscuits, and Survival Crackers, and Doomsday cookies IMHO are variations of Hard Tack. They do serve the dual purpose of being edible, and capable of stopping a bullet. Not sure of the nutritional value but they will fill the void.