Lessons I Learned In Sniping Weaponry.

Discussion in 'Guns, Knives, Tools, Etc.' started by Para173, Dec 11, 2016.

0/5, 0 votes

1. Para173

Para173 Well-Known Member
      95/99

Blog Posts:
    Many years ago, as a young sniper trainee, I learned that anything and everything that you do involving your precision shooting or sniper rifle can effect it either to the good or bad side of things. Any changes you make in anything can improve or throw off your accuracy.

When the military talks about snipers, they are talking about a whole system. That system includes but is not limited to: the highly trained sniper, the high grade and expensive sniper rifle, the various day and night scopes, the high grade and costly ammunition made to specific tolerances and other devices as needed from time-to-time to make a sniper more deadly or successful in his missions. During the Viet Nam War, ammo for a regular infantryman's rifle varied from 3 to 5 cents per round. A sniper's ammo cost about 25 cents per round and took much longer to produce because a sniper's ammo was not mass manufactured.

Many people think of snipers as being cold-blooded killers. The truth is that concept is completely wrong. A sniper is more like an engineer who has to solve a problem which involves a human who is causing a problem. The sniper researches the problem/human, thinks over the situation and gradually works out a solution that leads to a termination of the problem. Not all sniper missions or solutions involve killing people, believe it or not. Much of what snipers do is gather intelligence for their higher authority commanders. Good information can often be as useful as anything when it comes to a battlefield situation. To know where a large enemy group is situated is often worth its weight in gold and can save a smaller friendly unit from annihilation.