My First Time

Discussion in 'Gardening, Plant Propegation, & Farming' started by EarlyMarksman, Mar 27, 2020.

0/5, 0 votes

1. EarlyMarksman

EarlyMarksman Master Survivalist
      262/345

Blog Posts:
    This year is the first time I've ever tried gardening so I'm a complete newbie to it and I was wondering: how are you supposed to plant in grid down? Because of my limited knowledge, you obtain your plants from (where I live) the local farming store, and they are already planted in soil in a plastic bowl to which you take it home and plant it in your garden. Obviously, you can't store these plants on a shelf for years. I'm curious to how you would continue to grow plants without these stores providing them. I know I can purchase seeds, but right now I have tomatoes, squash, zucchini, okra and lettuce, all of which came in these type of plastic bowls and not bags of seeds.

TMT Tactical and Caribou like this.
  2. Caribou

Caribou Master Survivalist
      410/460

Blog Posts:
    Start your plants from seeds. Use heirloom seeds so they breed true and you can save seeds for next year's planting.

3. Old Geezer

Old Geezer Legendary Survivalist
      525/575

Blog Posts:
    Germinate your seeds in Dixie-cups. It helps to scratch/cut into the side of the seed so that the water can soak in -- you're giving the seed some help by doing so.

https://www.gardeners.com/how-to/how-to-start-seeds/5062.html

https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/ga...d-starting-how-to-germinate-seeds-at-home.htm

The above article is good in that it differentiates sprouting from getting the sprouts to put down roots. Wet paper towels can get seeds to sprout, then you can move them into a growing medium.

EarlyMarksman and TMT Tactical like this.
  4. TexDanm

TexDanm Shadow Dancer
      525/575

Blog Posts: