New Molds For The Mosins

Discussion in 'Ammo - Types, Usage, Reloading, ETC.' started by reloader762, Apr 1, 2017.

0/5, 0 votes

1. reloader762

reloader762 Member
      13/25

Blog Posts:
    I've been shooting the usual 150 to 160+ gr. cast bullet loads in my Mosin rifle for several years with excellent accuracy. Recently though I've been wanting to work with some heavier bullet in the 180 to 200+ gr. range with loads up around 2K fps. which in rifles like the Mosin and SKS an other 30 cal. rifles with 1:10 twist bores is about there Max. limit on velocity / stability.

All my cast rifle bullets are cast from wheel weights with a little Tin and water quenched for added hardness,gas checked and lube after 24 hours. One bullet the Lee 185 gr. RN I've been shooting for a couple of months with 19.0 grs. of Alliant 2400,it's not a Max load but it's plenty accurate at 50 yds. with the factory irons MV is in the Mid. 1600 fps range.

Last test group I shot with the Lee bullet.
    [​IMG]

Part of the Lee 185 gr. mold block
    [​IMG]

To get to the 1900 fps. range I have to use a slower powder to give the bullet a gently push so I'm using H-4895 currently I'm up to just over 1700 fps. with 33 grs. with plenty of room to go as to load density. Most likely I'll run of of velocity/ bullet stability /accuracy before I run out of load density.

Another bullet I'm working with that I had made by Tom over at Accurate Molds is strictly for hunting although it will do fine for target shooting as well it's just not designed for anything much over 200 yds. accuracy wise as it has a nice flat nose with 215 grs. of lead behind it to smash through bone an muscle of any game that walks in North America. I had a chance to cast up about 200 bullets last weekend to do some load test with,I have them gas check and lube and the OAL length set for my 1933 Tula HEX receiver 91/30. I just have to load up some ladder test loads and shoot them at some targets and over the chrono.