Proper Technique For Friction Fires.

Discussion in 'First Time Preppers and Survivalists' started by OneFoot, Jan 28, 2018.

0/5, 0 votes

Tags:
  1. OneFoot

OneFoot Active Member
      41/58

Blog Posts:
    Hello everyone im not sure if this is where to post this..
    while i do love anything that has to do with me getting lost in the woods ive been mostly self taught
    and i have to admit that i am clueless when i comes to friction fires.
    could anyone explain to me the proper way of making a bow drill and how to properly identify materials for the hearth board.
    i guess i basically need step by step instructions pics would help lol
    thankyou all
    -OneFoot-

Keith H. likes this.
  2. Bishop

Bishop Master Survivalist
      335/345

Blog Posts:
    Start off with a easy one that most people don't even know about.

3. Bishop

335/345

Blog Posts:
    Here is another one

koolhandlinc, Jim B and OneFoot like this.
  4. OneFoot

OneFoot Active Member
      41/58

Blog Posts:
    thankyou bishop i subscribed to your channel!!

Bishop likes this.
  5. Bishop

335/345

Blog Posts:
    Thank you will be doing a video on fire drill also

Tom Williams and OneFoot like this.
  6. AntonyRaison

AntonyRaison Active Member
      48/58

Blog Posts:

Here is A tutorial I put together about a year ago... I do intent to re-shoot this.. however I hope this can help

7. Keith H.

Keith H. Moderator Staff Member
      525/575

Blog Posts:
    My method is slightly different to most people's OneFoot, & I do not use any modern or man made products. These materials are for Australia, but you have a similar plant in the US known as the Yucca Plant. Soft woods for the drill & the fireboard makes the process of creating an ember much faster.
    Keith.

8. AntonyRaison

48/58

Blog Posts:
    cool Video Kieth, I have subbed you.
    Forgot to mention I am in southern Africa, however I was using Alder I believe, invasive species here (not indigenous)