Purchasing Survival Kit vs. Making Your Own

Discussion in 'General Q&A' started by crmeche2, May 25, 2016.

0/5, 0 votes

1. crmeche2

crmeche2 New Member
      8/23

Blog Posts:
    Should I purchase a survival kit or build my own? I'm new to this and want to know which is the better option. I have done a little research and have seen ready made kits for sale. I was wondering if there is any value in these, or should I just create my own. I have also seen several how-to guides on making kits, and I wanted to know if anyone could recommend one that was good.

Keith H. likes this.
  2. lonewolf

lonewolf Societal Collapse Survivalist. Staff Member
      510/575

Blog Posts:
    ready made kits have their place, but nothing beats personal experience.

Keith H. likes this.
  3. Tom Williams

Tom Williams Moderator Staff Member
      330/345

Blog Posts:
    Ready made kits ive saw are full of gear but from what ive seen of them they have poor quality of gear tube tent made of plastic paper thin blankets. I want gear of quality are you willing to risk your life on it because yiou may have to

Keith H. likes this.
  4. Correy

Correy Expert Member
      141/149

Blog Posts:
    You could start with a survival & first aid kit, but along the line you'll find yourself thinking "Oh, I need this and that too!". Each person has their own needs, especially if you also intend to care for medical conditions like diabetes and such.
    The manufacturers of these kits can't predict where you live or what special things you might need. So after you get your basics either through ready kit, or by gathering them yourself, it's good to sit down on an afternoon and think things like:

How far is the nearest hospital and if you have a vehicle to reach a destination.
    What's the chance of roads being damaged and what you can do instead.
    What to do if you don't have a car or you car is incapacitated.
    What are your/your team's medical needs (chronic illness, handicap)