Raising Quail

Discussion in 'Animal Husbandry' started by cluckeyo, May 28, 2016.

0/5, 0 votes

1. cluckeyo

cluckeyo Well-Known Member
      95/140

Blog Posts:
    I've been keeping quail for about 4 years. My cousin brought them to me after I had expressed interest in their quail operation. 8 quail. They even brought me a cage and a sack of feed. Even an incubator. And they presented all that to me as a gift! It's been fun learning how to take care of them and raise the chicks. These first quail were rather local, same state. I kind of dropped the ball last year and let my quail get too old before having a hatch, so I didn't have very many fertile eggs. I decided to just buy them online. They were BIG eggs. And they have produced BIG birds. What I first noticed is that this hatch didn't really go that well. Only about 30% hatched. That's not a good ratio. And they have been nothing but problems. Very tempermental. They don't lay well at all. I've tried many things to make them happy. They will do well for a few days, then stop laying again. I have about decided that they are inbred. As large as they are, I think this is a reasonable conclusion. They came from New Jersey, so just in case it has something to do with the climate, I have decided to only buy in Texas from now on. I love my quail, but these guys are driving me crazy!

2. Corzhens

Corzhens Master Survivalist
      277/345

Blog Posts: