Refining- Perfecting Disaster Responses

Discussion in 'News, Current Events, and Politics' started by Pragmatist, Nov 4, 2019.

0/5, 0 votes

1. Pragmatist

Pragmatist Master Survivalist
      485/575

Blog Posts:
    https://www.eurekalert.org/pub_releases/2019-11/lu-nrp110419.php

Good morning all,

Per ...

Article is about a project at Lancaster University, UK to improve the existing preparedness system.

Researchers will be "looking across ... operations decisions developing fast and efficient algorithms ..."

I am not a distinguished professor of management science but still know that in many countries "one natural disaster can trigger another and that flooding anywhere affecting human life can cause a health emergency. It can also involve animals.

Prefessor Zogrefos is wrong to believe it's guaranteed that response interventions provide "significant economic and societal benefits..." It depends. Rebuild on the flood plain, rebuild in the hurricane alley, ... guess what !

Usually it's by indirect means but "the affected communities" pay for the responses to include Lancaster University's efficient logarithms.

Well, "building a system" to distribute disaster relief "in the presence of civil disobedience and societal conflict" really does require additions to efficient logarithms. One addition is geometry calibrated in mils, for indirect fire support. Sandhurst knows about "real world complexities" involving "solution algorithms".

What's needed is funding. Consider liquidating Lancaster University and ask Parliament to send the proceeeds to SOUTH Sudan where the money is needed.

Meanwhile, back at the faculty lounge ......

TMT Tactical likes this.
  2. varuna

varuna Tree killer & a cat person
      380/460

Blog Posts:
    I check the source here https://gtr.ukri.org/projects?ref=EP/T003979/1

Look just another useless research for getting grant £