Shelters in snake infested areas

Discussion in 'Natural, Temporary, and Permanent Shelter' started by Bonzer, Jun 18, 2016.

0/5, 0 votes

1. Bonzer

Bonzer New Member
      8/23

Blog Posts:
    How would you go about building a make-shift shelter in a semi-wild area? I was replying to a first-aid thread on the other day where people talked about highly dangerous, venomous snakes in Australia. I never went out an expedition and never used any camping gear. So, I've no experience.

Well, how would you make your shacks/huts snake-proof?

Keith H. likes this.
  2. Tom Williams

Tom Williams Moderator Staff Member
      330/345

Blog Posts:
    Snakes are a problem sleep in shifts allways check bed roll for guest before you get in

3. Bonzer

Bonzer New Member
      8/23

Blog Posts:
    Thanks for your reply Tom. What you mentioned is a good idea, but I was wondering if we ever get camping gears that stop wild creatures from getting in. Sleep is such a valuable commodity on an outdoor expedition which I wouldn't like to compromise on. I would like to know more about any possible alternatives.

4. Tom Williams

330/345

Blog Posts:
    A. pet cat or dog is good they will protect you more than people relize hear smell and see better than you they will let you lnow when something is there

Bonzer likes this.
  5. Bonzer

Bonzer New Member
      8/23

Blog Posts:
    Yep, that's true indeed. I've once seen a news item where a boy was bitten by a snake and was holding onto the boy's leg injecting more venom. A pet dog pounced on the snake and pulled it away while the boy's granny came rushing and rescued the boy. The sobbing boy, of course,was saved eventually.

I saw it on a television news item. I don't remember the exact country where it took place.

6. Keith H.

Keith H. Moderator Staff Member
      375/460

Blog Posts: