Your Profession And Prepping

Discussion in 'The Hangout' started by BalisongAndBicycle, Jan 27, 2019.

0/5, 0 votes

1. BalisongAndBicycle

BalisongAndBicycle New Member
      8/29

Blog Posts:
    What is your profession, and how does it help you to be prepared? I am a vet tech, which is teaching me medical skills that can be used on pets and humans alike. I have been a shadetree mechanic, helped me to learn about cars and mechanical design in general, and for three years i managed housekeeping at a major hospital, which helped me to learn about disease, sanitation and gave me real-world experience in handling containment situations, including designing, building and running an Ebola ward.

Keith H. and TMT Tactical like this.
  2. TMT Tactical

TMT Tactical The Great Lizard ! Staff Member
      510/575

Blog Posts:
    I am a retired Facility Operations Engineer and with many other careers tossed into the mix. All these past skills will allow me to survive, along with my preps. I can do plumbing, electrical, rough construction, carpentry, mechanical repairs and soon some gunsmithing and reloading. Hunting and illegal fishing (fish traps) and minor gardening (food crops) will provide the substance needed and the other skills will provide shelter and defense.

Keith H. and BalisongAndBicycle like this.
  3. BalisongAndBicycle

BalisongAndBicycle New Member
      8/29

Blog Posts:
    Great skills! I have done a lot of maintenance as well, and that sort of work pays a lot of dividends! I ahve made a lot of useful things and learned how to hide or disguise many others, aa well as just make my wife happy with home improvements from time to time lol. Kudos on the electrical knowledge - i never could get the hang od that or much plumbing!

TMT Tactical likes this.
  4. Keith H.

Keith H. Moderator Staff Member
      525/575

Blog Posts: