Best ways to save money

Discussion in 'Financial Planning' started by Arboreal, Jun 17, 2016.

0/5, 0 votes

1. Arboreal

Arboreal Active Member
      36/47

Blog Posts:
    What are the methods and tricks you would recomment to other people to cut their spending? Apart from the basics, i.e. planning your budget and being aware of how much you spend and when, which probably everyone here does already ;)

My trick from since I was a student is always taking a vacuum flask with me when I leave the home, filled with tea or coffe, especially in the summer, so I don't need or feel the urge to buy bottled water or any other drinks. It saves only a dime daily, but in the long run it still makes financial sense for me, even now when I have a full-time job. Also, I own a bike and take full advantage of it, not only it saves money I would spend if was communitng by a bus, but regular cycling helps you stay fit and is good for your health in general. Of course, cycling to job is not an option for everyone, but if you don't live far from yourworkplace, you should definitely consider it.
    Final tip: if you really want to go abroad for holidays, try to book your trip in advance, at best in winter/early spring. When you book out of the season, less offers are available, but the costs are much lower.

2. jonthai

jonthai New Member
      8/23

Blog Posts:
    I usually just save allot. That's my method. Each time I get some extra money, I save it and since i forget it, some days later when I REALLY need it I use it. It's kind of a nice strategy, although probably won't work for everyone.

3. Vinaya

Vinaya Expert Member
      143/173

Blog Posts:
    The best saving advice I have ever been given is: stop spending money.