Henry Lever Rifle .38 Special/.357 Magnum

Discussion in 'Guns, Knives, Tools, Etc.' started by watcherchris, Sep 21, 2018.

0/5, 0 votes

1. watcherchris

watcherchris Legendary Survivalist
      510/575

Blog Posts:
    Picked up a Henry Lever Rifle in .38 Special/.357 Magnum.

I have been putting off this purchase for about two years now...and finally made the jump.

It is a 16.5 inch barrel length and has some kind of oversized lever than I have seen on most of them.

They are called Big Boy Steel rifles.

I did not want anything to do with those brass type rifles..to much bling for my taste...and would show up brightly out in the woods..not for me thanks,

https://www.henryusa.com/rifles/henry-big-boy-steel/

I have not had time to go through it but plan this weekend to punch out the barrel and wipe down the metal parts on it with a slightly oiled cloth.

Also plan to apply to the metal parts a very thin coat of this Dow Corning M55 silicon O ring grease and particularly down the barrel. A moisture barrier...

Will be getting a rifle case for it as well.

Had a Rossi years ago and enjoyed just knocking around at the range using .38 Specials...but let that rifle get away from me.

Gotta shove off now..

Catch up with the board over the weekend,

Watcherchris

2. Old Geezer

Old Geezer Legendary Survivalist
      525/575

Blog Posts:
    I bought a Henry in .22 mag. Works great. Is accurate.

I have a Winchester Trapper in .357. Great handy-rifle.

Only downside of the Henry product I know of is that it is without a side loading gate. I have tube speed loaders for .22 LR/Mag. I wonder if such speed-loaders exist for .38/.357. For the .22 mag tube fed rifles I own I can zip! drop in 11 rounds, poof! In .22 LR, 15rnds plus go down the tube in one swallow; 20 rnds in .22 short. But finding a speed loader for the Henry center fire tube feed would be dynamite.