Surviving Bacterial Infection In An Isolated Area

Discussion in 'Survival Stories' started by OursIsTheFury, Jul 3, 2017.

0/5, 0 votes

1. OursIsTheFury

OursIsTheFury Expert Member
      153/173

Blog Posts:
    I studied in a nursing school and we had to go to rural areas for outreach programs a lot. One particular case was an elder man who was in the middle of nowhere literally; has a house at least 3 hours from the nearest community, and the path towards his home through the mountains was barely visible because they have been used so little by the people. He had his own fruit trees and coffee plants, he has a water pump, and he trades some of the fruit to the nearby communities for his other needs. All in all, it's not a bad way to live since the view from his place was spectacular. Problem was he had a bacterial infection for a while in a wound that he was too stubborn to get checked; there was no electricity since he was so far from the community, and there's basically no phone signal too so no phones.

In the end we convinced him to get treatment at the province's closest hospital because there were already signs of massive infection and sepsis, and he wouldn't last much longer. He claimed that he was using medicinal herbs that can help with the wound, but it wasn't enough. He survived though, but if we hadn't convinced him, he would probably have died in a few months, if not weeks.

2. Vinaya

Vinaya Expert Member
      143/173

Blog Posts:
    One of the primary causes of bacterial infection when traveling in an isolated area is contaminated water. Travelers seem to drink water straight from the sources such ponds, springs, rivers, streams etc. Chances of contamination in running eater is less, but the water in lake or pond is very polluted. If you make sure to boil before you drink, you can avoid bacterial infection.

3. Clara1993

Clara1993 Active Member
      38/58

Blog Posts: