'surviving' Bushpigs In The Reeds...

Discussion in 'Survival Stories' started by sekelbos, Mar 29, 2019.

0/5, 0 votes

1. sekelbos

sekelbos Well-Known Member
      87/115

Blog Posts:
    I am new with lots of stories to share--as such I could not revive the old thread and so will start a new one on the same topic.
    Also I still do not have blog privileges and hope to have all my stories maybe in one place at some time if the mods permit ?
    These are real life experiences where I 'survived' [not always due to my 'survival skills' !] in Africa to see the sun another day---enjoy!

My good friend and hunting companion and I were out Bush pig hunting [problem animals] with bow and spear in the Makidikidiki river area in the Limpopo near the iconic Hanglip mountain.

SAM_0805.JPG
    The ranch we were hunting on this time was right next to the huge 35000 ha private Game reserve. Some of the bush pigs had crawled from under the protective game fence in the river and created havoc with the farmer’s watermelon and groundnuts harvest right next door.
    Although usually nocturnal, these hogs had not often been hunted before, and as the reeds in the river offered protection and a safe passage, they fed during the daytime as well.

12.jpg

We established that they came down through ‘tunnels’ in the reeds that had totally overgrown the stream at places. This made it nearly impossible to spot them during the day, and at night it was totally out of the question to see them.

After investigating all the possible strategies, we concluded that the only way to hunt them with a bow was to hack a corridor/clearing in the reed bed in the river. We then put out some tasty watermelons pieces sprinkled with groundnut fodder as a lure, thus trying in that way to get them out in the open for a shot with my Mathews compound bow.